Tuesday, January 20, 2009

what is too soon? (Jaclyn)

I've been thinking about the triathlon a lot lately and if we're ready to do one. My answer to that is simply NO. I can barely run a mile without getting tired. I remember our original goal was to be able to run a 5K (a little over 3 miles) and each mile be about 9 minutes each. I know if I try to run longer my mile time will just get longer and longer. In swim workouts we swim 1000 of yards everyday, but when you're in a competition and only swim 50 yards you're EXHAUSTED. Why? I think before we do the triathlon we have to be able to do more than a 5K everyday...

The most we ever biked was 3 miles...I admit we were going a slow pace and enjoying ourselves, but that took us an hour. How the heck are we going to do over 10 miles under an hour? We haven't even started training in the bike area...

Swimming is whatever. We can do that with our eyes closed! (We're competitive swimmers!) [;

I know Wendy why you really want to do a triathlon so early, and about the school newspaper. But let's think about this; PHYSICALLY are we ready? I know mentally we're sooo ready. I'm very competitive so I love competitions, but PHYSICALLY Wendy...I think we may be getting ahead of ourselves here. I know I can't complete a triathlon this month. I'm not ready.

But then on the other hand, I know you're physically better at biking and running than me. You can run faster, you can bike longer without getting tired...so if YOU want to do the triathlon this month that's your choice. And HECK YES I'll be on the side lines giving you water (if I'm allowed) and cheering you on. I'll drive down the the finish line and hug you. I'll be right there by your side for the whole entire time...just behind the side lines. I know this is something we intended on doing together, but if you're ready and I'm not, I don't want to hold you back. I don't want to be the problem. And I won't feel bad if you do a triathlon before me. I may feel jealous, but that will only make me work harder to reach our goal. :D


Just a few thoughts that I had on my mind... [:


<3Jac

No comments:

Post a Comment