Sunday, February 22, 2009

Sat. Violin Competition Sun. Swim Meet (Jaclyn)

On Saturday I had my violin competition and it went fairly well. The comments were positive but had things I could work on...

Sunday...SWIM MEET! Ah, I was more nervous than usual. I usually get really nervous ahead of time but this time I didn't get nervous until I was right by the blocks ready to dive in. But when I got nervous I was REALLY nervous. :/ Today I swam the 50 free (2 laps freestyle), 200 free (8 laps freestyle), and the 200 Medley relay (4 people in the relay and each person does a different stroke).

Now this meet is a Championship meet for slow people. LOL! Basically that means 1rst place winners get the most points, 2nd place winners get a little less, 3rd place winners get less than that etc...The team with most points in the end wins. "For the slow people" part means that people that already have Junior Olympics can't compete. HA! (Sorry, but for us slower swimmers, this is the best kind of meet ever invented...lol!)

50 free: I was seated as 2nd fastest and my friend was 3rd fastest. When our heat and lanes were posted the fastest person in our event had scratched (left and gone home) so I was now the fastest in my event. Yero (my friend who is now 2nd fastest) told me that I'm in the middle lane (the fastest lane) and I should beat everyone since I have the fastest time. GREAT YERO! THANKS A LOT! But actually this was good for me to hear, because I swim better under pressure. XD My original time was 27.09 and today I raced a 26.66. HALF A SECOND DROP! That is reeeally good (for you non-swimmers out there). I'm not sure if I have a Junior Olympic time but I definitely have a Dec. Invite time. An hour later (or so) I jumped up and shouted, "I WON my event...that means I got points for our team!" It hadn't really
occurred to me that I had WON. I knew I got 1st in my heat, but I forgot my heat was the fastest heat in the whole event. I felt really good after I realized this. (Sorry for those who do not under stand swim talk..I know it can sounds like lskdjflaksjdflkasd!!!)

200 free: I always go out to fast in the first 2 laps. So I thought the whole time, "pace pace pace!" I went out pretty strong, but not too much. The last 4 laps I was sprinting to catch up. I ended up dropping 1 or 2 seconds. No JO (Junior Olympic) time, but I wasn't expecting it. 200 free isn't my favorite event. (50 free is my absolute favorite!)

200 Medley Relay: This was...a disaster. I don't know. Well, okay maybe it wasn't. I'm still trying to figure out what went wrong...and where. x[ First up were the youngers for there relay. Since this was a point meet the teams were fired up! They were screaming for there teammates to win. I've never experienced this at all. I guess because it was a small pool and everybody was shouting in a small area that it sounded SO LOUD! Even at JOs I don't think it's that loud! I turned around to my friend and I shouted, "OMG! This is SOO INTENSE!" It was almost scary. x] FINALLY THE 15&up girls get to swim (us)! The people on our relay team:

Yero Han: 50 back
Jessica Hanein: 50 breast
Kimberly Umpornpuckdi: 50 fly
Jaclyn Kim: 50 free

Yero went out really strong and we had the lead! Jessica lost the lead but we were still in 2nd! Kim lost 2nd but we were still in 3rd! I wound up my arms to dive in for the last sprint, but as I was winding up I realized I was going to dive in too early (and get Disqualified - DQed). At the last moment I froze on the block (now on my tipy-toes) trying not to dive in too early. I saw that her hands touched so I finally dove in. (Horrible dive, but I thought "at least I didn't get DQed!") There was no way for me to catch up, but it didn't really matter at this time if we could win, it was for the time. It's always fun to go to JOs with a relay team. ANYWAY! After I finished I climbed out and this big man in a white uniform (referee) told me that I was DQed for early entry (false start - I dove in too early). I was totally bummed out. I had DQed my ENTIRE relay. I felt horrible. UGH! It's worse than just DQing your own event...you DQed the ENTIRE relay team. :[ Anyway, my Coach told me he thought I shouldn't have gotten DQed and he said he wanted to see it on tape.

LATER in the bathrooms I found out that Kim's mom HAD flimed our relay. I haven't seen the footage (haha sounds professional) yet, but I want to! KIMBERLY, PLEASE UPLOAD THE VIDEO TO YOUTUBE! If Kim does, I'll post it on the blog - fersure! Even Kim's mom was saying I shouldn't have gotten DQed. She's like, "Yeah, I totally remember your dive. You were going to dive in too early, but the you stopped yourself and I thought you were going to fall off the block...You finally dove in and you went straight down to the bottom of the pool...Yeah I remember, because you had a horrible dive..." HAHAHA! THANKS MRS. U, but seriously. I hate getting DQed on a RELAY. I feel so bad for my relay members. :[[[


SORRY for you non-swimmers. I know this probably sounds like a different language. :/



Your tired blogger,
<33JAC

No comments:

Post a Comment