Friday, December 11, 2009

we're fat [jac]

Well Wendy's not.

finally. we're back running again together.

So far our work out plan seems to be:

Friday: run
Saturday: run
Sunday: run
Monday: rest
Tuesday: push ups
Wednesday: bike ride or run
Thursday: sit ups and intense stretching

but we seem to be doing fine. I mean except for being a little sore...We're really not dying. So wendy wants to run a couple more days of the week too. But ever since this stupid rain, we haven't have a really good run yet. Soo...sun COME BACK. and we'll run. <3

Late night workouts at home tonight? we'll see. :)

Sunday, November 29, 2009

up & running (again)

Hooray for laziness! Hooray for not exercising since summer!


But! we are up and on our feet now. since yesterday. =] & continuing...

Monday, August 10, 2009

bike ride (Jac)

So the bike ride on Sat. was fun, but note to self, never ever bike in the hottest time of the day...not very smart at all..Although it was the only time we could bike because of SAT prep. :[

Kao, Wendy, Cody, and I all went. The girls (kao wendy and I) took the blue bike (aka the horrible bike), green bike (luxurious bike), and the purple beach cruiser. The blue bike was so bad that we all three traded off. Poor Wendy and Kao had to ride it the most. :[ (Sorry I was such a pooper and didn't want to ride it that much...) Honestly, I think they're better bikers than me. Cody had a really tall bike that no one could ride but himself (being 6'3")...

When we got there Kao, Wendy, and I jumped into the water to cool off, but the waves were horrible and non of us caught any. :/

It was fun...but I think we've done Seal Beach and now we need to move on. Next goal: Huntington. Twice as far, but twice as thrilling. I can't wait till we go, BUT we're going to start like 6:30 in the morning so the waves are good and it's not so hot. :D


Well I guess that's it,
BYE! <3 JAC

PS~ Pictures as soon as Kao uploads them. :]

Saturday, August 8, 2009

BEACH TODAY! (jac)

expect pictures and complaints of leg pains. :D
(of course we're biking there)


<3Jac

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

yesterday (jac)

Hello~

Wendy has theater class in the evening so we couldn't run together yesterday, but my mom went on a walk so I decided to go running at the same time. I ran about 1.5-2 miles. I wasn't really keeping track of the time so I have no idea how long it took me. It felt good to run. :) ...I'm not that sore...I can feel it in my legs a LITTLE but really there's no pain. :D

TTYL,
<3JAC

yesterday (jac)

Hello~

Wendy has theater class in the evening so we couldn't run together yesterday, but my mom went on a walk so I decided to go running at the same time. I ran about 1.5-2 miles. I wasn't really keeping track of the time so I have no idea how long it took me. It felt good to run. :) ...I'm not that sore...I can feel it in my legs a LITTLE but really there's no pain. :D

TTYL,
<3JAC

Monday, August 3, 2009

back home (jac)

I'm finally back home! I came back Friday afternoon.

Saturday night I took a 2.5 walk with mi familia.

Sunday I did some sprints with Wendy.

She confessed that she only ran once without me...I confessed that I didn't run at all without her. HAHAHA. yeah we're lame, but that's okay! We'll get "back-into-shape" ONE MORE TIME! ...I feel like we're always saying that. xD Got to go to SAT prep~


<3Jac

Sunday, July 26, 2009

US Open of Surfing [Wendy]




Went to the annual beach party hosted by Cerritos Aquatic Club (CAC) on Saturday. As usual, Huntington Beach was super crowded because of the U.S. Open, a big surf competition. The event is known for having a lot of vendors, so a lot of free stuff is handed out; unfortunately, it wasn't the case this year. Well, if you walk around, you will get the usual key chain, stickers, chap stick, surf wax, lotion, and maybe a shirt or bag if your lucky. The biggest 'wow' about Saturday wasn't actually the free stuff, but it was actually the waves this year.




Apparently, there was a tsunami in Hawaii or something, and it caused some ginormous waves on our coast. I arrived at the beach at about 10 in the morning, and I was anticipating to get in the water (because the morning waves are best). When I was going in, Yero even said, "Oh, the rip current doesn't look that bad." We got in at around lifeguard station 7, and we were swept to 5 before we even got shoulder deep.




The waves just got bigger during the afternoon. Seriously, you don't understand the size of a 15 or 20 foot wave until you see one! Even driving down PCH, you can still see the incredible size of them! Honestly, I don't think I will see the ocean the same way again.




*Thank you, Mrs. Kim, for your concern, however!




Here are a few pictures of the U.S. Open:






Sunday, July 5, 2009

2 weeks into summer (Wendy)

Bam! Two weeks into summer already! Yesterday was July 4th and now just 2 more months of summer left before school starts. Jaclyn left for Ohio for music camp a week ago, and I miss her already! I'm so used to calling her when I feel like working out or running or just playing around the park.

The other day, I ran with cross country in the morning, and thank god it was an easy day. They take stretching very seriously, so we stretched all of our muscles in a big circle. After that, we had a nice 15 minute run, and everybody was going a good pace. When we were done, we played another game of blob tag with a reward of Jamba Juice! The funny part was that an alumni, Margaret, had decided to run with the cross country team that morning, and she happened to tag me while we were playing blob tag. So, there I was, playing tag with my ex-chair (in the UCI conference) unsuccessfully chasing people around. o.o

Yup, so there, you basically have it. Not the most thrilling summer so far, but it's just started :)

I can't wait until Jaclyn comes back from Ohio wonder what the rest of the summer has in store :]

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

6.23.09 (jac)

Today!

Woke up at 5:45AM to go biking (WHY YERO DID YOU HAVE TO GET TO MY HOUSE 10 MINUTES EARLIER?!?!??!). Got there and came home in about 25 minutes. (WHY YERO DID WE BIKE SO FAST?!?!??!)

Later today around 7:00ish Wendy and I walked over to Cerritos High School to run the mile again. Her goal was 9.5 minutes but I convinced her to just try to run it in10 minutes (I like to slowly build up to a goal). We ended up running it in 8minutes and 57seconds...My abs hurt. WHY DOES RUNNING HURT MY UPPER BODY?! I couldn't breathe after we finished...HEY, but that's good right? Ahaha now we got to get it down to 7 minutes!!!!!!! >:P

Dude, I'm so tired. Okay just 1.5 more hours of studying and then it's ZzzzZzzz time!!!


<3Jac


PS! Wendy is attempting to run with the TRACK TEAM tomorrow at 6:15. GOOD LUCK WENDY! chin up, and push through the pain. NO PAIN NO GAIN. :)

6.22.09 (jac)

Sorry for not posting. -____-'

Yesterday (Monday) I woke up at 5:55AM to go biking with a friend, YERO, before her swim workout. We got there in 18 minutes and after saying hi to a few friends, I biked home (in about the same amount of time). I then got ready for school...

Later that day Wendy and I biked to Cerritos High School (around 7:15ish) and we ran around the track and field. Apparently that equals a mile...We ran it nice and slow (11.5 minutes?). Yeah pretty slow mile time, but hey we weren't trying to sprint it. :) (lol, just survive it...)

And that's pretty much it for yesterday. =]


<3Jac

Saturday, June 20, 2009

boomchikawooow (jaclyn)

*clears throat*

i called wendy right after she took a shower so we decided to call of tonight and not run. buuuut i really felt like running so i got my brother to ride his bike while i ran. i didn't really keep track of how far i went or how long i went for...but around 40 minutes. yuuup.

bye!


<3jac


PS~ pictures coming soon from the pier swim? i hope. :)

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Pier Swim & 'Workouts' [Wendy]

Friday Evening:
Jaclyn and I head over to an elementary school, and we play a little bit of hand-ball and xxxxxball. <--*I havnt thought of a name yet. We are still crippled and limping because of the sprint we had a few days before. The back of my leg, (the muscle that you feel when you touch your toes) hurts so much arggg, I could barely walk yet run. I was worried for the pier swim tomorrow. ://

PIER SWIM:
Last week Saturday morning, I woke up at 7 in the morning for the Huntington Beach Pier Swim! I have heard some terrifying stories of the pier swim, and I have to admit I would have been pretty nervous if I had not been so sleepy. People had warned me about the rip current swimming back on the south side, and I kept a mental note to avoid being pulled through the pier. I've been pulled through the pier before, and I remember that was a scary experience because the pier looks so much larger when you are under it. Before I knew it, I was lined up to sprint in the water next to Yero, a friend. The horn blew, and I was off to the half mile swim around the pier in the 60 degree F water. Thankfully, it felt like it numbed my muscle, and I didnt feel my muscle on my leg while swimming. Soon, my hands and legs became numb, so I swam head down looking into the murky water mechanically inching my way around the pier. I saw Yero before I reached the half-way point, but she disappeared in front. Halfway there! I reached the circular part of the pier I had to go around and head back from the south. The tip point of the pier looks small but it seemed gigantic because it was just bam, looming over me. To swim around, we had to face a rough current, and keeping in mind what the others had warned me, I headed a fair distance away from the pier. So far so good... I literally put my head down and swim a few strokes and the next thing I know, the pier is right there! I am getting closer to the lifeguard who is just staring at me. I start to swim at an angle... 90 degrees and I am not going anywhere. *weak. Meanwhile the lifeguard just sits on his board and stares at me, and when I am 4 feet from the pier, he tells me, "If you can't fight it, just go through." So I am pulled with the current and end up far down south and finishing 83rd.
Coming out of the water, I didn't feel tired really. I slowly felt my arms and legs come back to life from the chilling water, but no, I was not tired. It went by so fast. I went in and then I came out. boom. in 15 minutes ish.



AFTER the PIER SWIM:
The rest of the day was AWESOME! Well, after the pier swim, I lay on my towel and 30 minutes later Aro (Yero's older sister) and I are like, "Wanna go back in the water?" "Yes!" So, we end up walking to station 5/7 ish and bodysurfing until we neared the pier. We walked out and did it again. The morning waves were very nice, so we took those two rounds and caught a few waves. After bodysurfing, I thought I was done for the day. I even showered, changed, and began studying for the finals I was neglecting.

and hour into the studying in the sun...

Annie (a long time no see friend) arrives! At that time, we had no intention of going back in the water. We have lunch and yogurt =], come back, and decide to get back in the water! I go back in the water with a different crowd this time- Jaclyn, Annie, and some wimpy boys. (haha no offense)
I ended up being the one freaking out about going too far and seeing things in the water. (I do that a lot) We do the same thing as I did before in the morning. We walked down to station 5/7 ish and bodysurfed until we were pulled back to the pier. x2 .

I think we left the beach at around 430ish? I spent a lot of time at the beach that day, but it was worth it. Annie's dad comes to take us home and concludes the good day.



NOW:
Today is June 18th. The first day of summer break!!!!!!!!! =] Jaclyn and I are going to workout at the elementary school again since we are still aching from the sprint we had 1.5 weeks ago.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

TODAY (jaclyn)

TODAY WAS FUN. :D

Wendy and I are still pretty sore, but I wanted to run or do something active because all I did was eat today. o.O Wendy drove to my house with her little sister and then from my house Wendy, Cindy (wendy's little sister), Cody (my old brother), and I rode/ran to an elementary school. We only had two bikes so Wendy and I rode half way and then Cody and Cindy rode the bikes the rest of the way.

We video taped ourselves playing the game Wendy invented (hey, you should invent a name too!), handball, long jump, and four square...Cody (who's 19) owned us in a lot of the games... -___-;

Maybe I will, maybe I won't post the videos on youtube...They're kind of long. Although, if I post the one of us playing Wendy's game then you'll know how the game is played.... yuuup. :D

Well I should go take a shower. bubye!


<3Jac

yesterday (jaclyn)

Ugh, I didn't post yesterday. -_______-'

OKAY. so Pier Swim was yesterday (Saturday) and it turned out to be really fun. I don't have any pictures yet because I took pictures with my friend's camera.

Wendy got to the beach around..8:00 (i think) to sign in. I got there around 8:45 to cheer! Wendy swam all the way around the pier (for her first time) in FREEZING cold water and a HORRIBLE CURRENT. Ugh...I hate currents. xD I think her time was around 13 minutes? She placed around 80th out of 120 people? Not bad for her first time. Her age group was 16-49 so of course she was going against the pros. She ended up loving it and having a lot of fun. She said her body totally went numb in the water. :P

The whole time Wendy was swimming, I was running up and down the pier getting pictures of my friends (yero, aro, kimberly, and others...). I think I ran up and down that pier 4 times... -____-; OUCHY ON THE SHINS!

Later on I went into the water to body surf. That was a bunch of fun. I caught one REALLY GOOD WAVE! And the rest I was kinda afraid to catch because the surf was HUGE...okay huge for us is like...8 feet? Hahaha....yeah...I'm not talking about those 100 foot waves in Hawaii, okay?! LOLOL. :D

I think I surfed for like 3 hours. It was so much fun...*sigh*

Ugh, now Wendy and I are both sunburned on our faces...but it was totally worth it. Wendy says she can't wait for next year to do the pier swim again. :D I'm really glad she had a fun time. :)


<3Jac

Friday, June 12, 2009

today was fun (Jaclyn)

Wendy and I went to a school again and we were going to do sprints, but we're kinda in a lot of pain lately. I'm experiencing the stupid shin splits and she's super sore from highschool workouts and running on top of that. SO instead we decided to play this super fun ball game...It's hard to explain online, but basically you don't want the ball to touch the ground so you have to run/sprint to get it. The more times the ball bounces, the more BAD points you get. So basically we were running and sprinting around with a ball for a good 45 minutes.

Then we decided to change the game to handball. WHAT DO YOU KNOW? Apparently I suck at that game and Wendy is the "ultimate handball-er who beats all the boys..." Nice title Wendy.... :D

Then we did ...shoot I just forgot the name of it....when the name of the game that we did next comes to my head I'll edit this post....Anyway, we played another game and then we rode our bikes to get some yogurt. :D

OH! And whoever lost each game had to sprint to the far wall and back...(about 100 meters). Wendy lost two games and I lost two games. :)

TOMORROW IS THE PIER SWIM!!!!!!!! GOOD LUCK EVERYONE! I'LL BE THERE CHEERING! I think Wendy is going to sign up for the pier swim, so look out for more pictures. ;D


<3Jac

Thursday, June 11, 2009

CRIPPLED for a week (wendy)

Like all nube-y runners, I feel sore after sprinting a weeny 200 meters :)  Terrific. The day after the sprint, I went to polo practice and some muscles that I never knew existed ached a lot! That day, our coach decided to punish us with a set of planks and frog jump things. Let's just say the next day, I walked particularly slow to class and refrained from laughing or sneezing b/c any contraction of my abs caused me great pain haha. 
We had a slow jog today just to relieve or aching muscles. Jaclyn suggested that we go get some yogurt, but we decided to save that for another day so we can fill a gigantic cup. yum.

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

sore (jaclyn)

PICTURES ARE HERE. :)

Yesterday, Wendy and I went to a school again and we did sprints. Wendy printed off a sheet of paper with a bunch of sprints/sets to do, but we decided to modify it a bit...(since we're weak). :D Anyway, now Wendy and I are both pretty sore. I'm sore, but then for some reason it kinda feels good because I haven't been sore for a while. :)

Here's the pictures from a couple of days ago:










<3jac

Saturday, June 6, 2009

soaking wet with sweat (jaclyn)

ewwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!! *points to title*

yeah, kinda feeling a bit disgusting right now. but hopefully it'll be worth it. :) Wendy and I started running at 12:05 and we got to my house around 12:50ish. 45ish run. Boy, am I sweaty. The run was pretty hard..and it was pretty hot today so that wasn't helping out at all...

Well, that's it. bye. :)


<3jac


PS! WENDY HASN'T SENT ME THE PICTURES SO THAT'S WHY I HAVEN'T POSTED THEM! x]

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Swim-A-Thon UPDATE (Jaclyn)

1 hr. 20 minutes. - 5000 yards - 200 laps - approximately 3 miles. WOOOT coming in second place just 5ish minutes after DYLAN! (good job dude) and CONNIE FINISHED 3rd 10 minutes later!!

:wow: i feel very accomplished. :D I NEVER STOPPED ONCE! :]]]

::victory dancing time::


<3jac

Thursday Update (Jaclyn)

No running today - my fault.

I have a Swim-A-Thon today. My goal: 200 laps in 2hrs. Do think I can do it?

HELP AND SUPPORT. :D


<3jac

Wednesday Udate (Jaclyn)

No running on Wednesday. Just thundering and raining...

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

singing songs while running and playing on the playgrounds (jaclyn)

Yuup; title says it all. ;]

So Wendy and I kinda...awarded ourselves. We decided to make it a tradition. Once a week, we'll go to a school and have fun. We ended up taking 60 pictures on the playground. o.O HAHAH. I'll post some of them later, but I don't have them yet. Wendy and I did run. We ran around the field a bit and we sprinted all the way to the gate to get out at the end of our workout. We spent like...an hour at the playground. Wow...INNER KIDS COMING OUT! I think it's the summer coming out of us. We just want to EXPLODE with hyperness...I know all that didn't really make sense...but that's okay. Wendy understands me. ;D

We recorded ourselves singing the "Climb" by Miley Cyrus WHILE RUNNING...epik failure. And then we recorded ourselves singing "Love Story" by Taylor Swift...another epik failure. But all is good, because I don't think you'll be singing those on youtube...even for me that's way to embarrassing. Quote of the day, "I'M SORRY WENDY BUT EVEN I DON'T HAVE THAT MUCH SELF CONFIDENCE!" ...yup...

Hmm...so expect more "real" workouts and PICTURES from our "not-so-real" workout today. [:

That's all, BYE!


<3jac

Monday, June 1, 2009

Daily Run [Wendy]

Our run is starting to be a daily routine, which is fairly nice. Today, it was Jaclyn's turn to decide where to run. (I think it's starting to be a competition of who can choose the best place to run!) Well, I give dibs to her today because we went to Sunshine Park, a small community park. The moment we got there, I noticed that a few laps around the circumference of the park would equal a decent run. There was just one issue- the basketball court. Jaclyn and I were not so thrilled about passing the basketball courts every round. So, Jaclyn began running through the never-ending neighborhood. Time passed very quickly because we were chatting away and not thinking about the minutes. Eventually, the never-ending neighborhood took us to an outing that was very near Jaclyn's house.
It was a good route to choose because it was a good distance and took us to the right place. After crossing the bridge, I decided that we should sprint the remaining distance to Jaclyn's house. The pace that we ran at was equivalent to that of a 400 sprint pace, so when we arrived at Jaclyn's house, we felt a burning in our lungs greater than what we've felt with the slow but long runs.

Friday, May 29, 2009

3rd day of our comeback! (jaclyn)

Yesterday night we had our 3rd day of jogging. Wendy discovered that the backside to heritage park is suuuper close to her house...We walked to the park and ran around it a couple of times.

- 4 minute run, 1 minute break
- 4 minute run, 1 minute break
- 4 minute run, 1 minute break

Then we decided to go see our close friend JASMINE who lives pretty close to the park. I wanted to see her doggy! :D We did a slow 3 minute jog to her house. We pet her dog for 5-10 minutes and then we decided to head back to Wendy's house. We did another two, 2 minute runs and 1 minute breaks.

All together it took a long time...I'm not sure why. It felt good though. <3>


<3jac

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Almost summer! [Wendy]

We are back and going full on! There is a little more than two more weeks of school, and Jaclyn and I have begun our original jogging workout. We began yesterday and have completed two jogs since then.
The first day, Jaclyn came to my house after swim practice, and her mom took us to Regional Park. We ran the perimeter of Regional and back to her house through another, long park. After our workout had expired and we had not reached our destination, we decided to just add 2 more minutes several times. I think it took about an hour?
Today, we ran a similar route excluding the perimeter of Regional park. It felt very long, but it was not as long as yesterday. Already, my thighs and legs are burning, but I miss that sensation. I just don't like shin splits. I hope those do not come back.
Can't wait until summer comes! I know Jaclyn will be busy during summer, but I hope we can still workout when she's not amazing everyone with her music. Summer 09! <3

boom boom pow (jaclyn)

random title...

running again today:

- 4 minute run, 1 minute break
- 4 minute run, 1 minute break
- 4 minute run, 1 minute break
- 3 minute run, 1 minute break
- 3 minute run, 1 minute break
- 2 minute run, 1 minute break

26 minutes running plus warm down. all together it took us 30 minutes. [:

i'm a bit sore...ouch...

BACK IN THE GAME! (jaclyn)

...that is hopefully. [:

Swim season is over for Wendy and that means we have a bizzlion hours to run. (crap) Yesterday we were really productive. :D (As you can tell, I'm very proud!) We ran 3+ miles in 40 minutes (including warm-down). MUAHAHA! lol. Okay so that time isn't very good, but we weren't going for time. We were going for "trying-to-get-back-into-shape" time. It was actually fun..I know running, fun? Yeah right! But the burning sensation felt good. :D This is how we ran:

-4 minutes - 1 minute break
-4 minutes - 1 minute break
-4 minutes - 1 minute break
-3 minutes - 1 minute break
-2 minutes - 1 minute break
-2 minutes - 1 minute break
-2 minutes - 1 minute break
-2 minutes - 1 minute break
-2.4 minutes - 1 minute break

with warm down. wow, look at all those breaks..lol. the 1 minute breaks go by so fast. :D Seriously, it feels like 20 seconds and it's like "crap gotta run some more!" *sigh* but it's okay. Maybe we'll do something like that again today. Gotta keep going!!

Hopefully you'll hear more from this blog a lot more now! Thank you to those readers out there.


<3Jac

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

ocean waves (Jaclyn)



So Wendy and I finally got our act together and biked to the beach today! (woot woot). OH MY GOSH! Biking there was probably the hardest thing to do. -__-' Well not the HARDEST, but it was pretty dang hard. The wind was soo bad that we were barely moving anywhere. Took us nearly 1 and 1/2 hrs to get to Seal Beach. Woosh. Once we got there we snacked for a bit and then we jumped/ran/screamed into the water. ;] We did a lot of screaming..It was pretty cold. Outside weather was around 62. I don't know what the water temperature was. The water wasn't ICE cold though, so it was nice. We caught two waves *high five*. LOL. But it was fun to "get back into shape." Pictures~




Oh, and it only took 45 minutes to get home. :D
<3JAC

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Quiescent (Jaclyn)

adj. inactive, often suggesting a temporary state....

LOL. aka me.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

no running...(Jaclyn)

I talked to Wendy on the phone the other day. Her coach told her that if she wanted to go to CIF she had to go all out on every sprint set he gives her. GO WENDY! I wish I could train with her. Our 50 free yard time is almost the same and we use to compete all the time together at swim. :[ Ugh.

And now we don't run together. WENDY I MISS YOU! LOL. xD

I haven't been running...Yes, I'll finally admit it. :[ It makes me sad...and mad ...and disappointed. I want to get back into, but I just haven't had the time...I mean I could get up at 5:30AM and run, but who can function off of that little bit of sleep?! x[

BUT! (only good part about this whole entry) I AM still working out on land. This week I've been concentrating on my abs. Lots of leg lifts (which ironically work your abs), crunches, sit ups, and other sorts of fun painful dryland workouts. :D go me! ;] (Praising myself on the only thing I do...lol)

Well that's it...I guess...BYE!


<3jac


PS~ Of course I still swim almost everyday...(4-5 times a week)

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

depressed...lol not really

WHAAAAH! I ran for the first time in FOREVER yesterday morning. :D *gives a pat on the back*.. yeah. i don't know why i feel so proud.. o.O lol. ANYWAY:

I'm not sure when I'll run again. Ugh first I'm sick so I can't run, and now I'm SO DARN busy (with hw and music) that I can't run. wooosh...

Now that I look at what's ahead...I'm not sure if I'll be able to complete a triathlon this spring/summer. jump start on next year? I just don't know.

Ugh. ...I hate quitting. WHICH I'M NOT DOING...I just don't know what's going to happen right now. =/


You're very sad blogger,
Jaclynnnn. (pooey)

Monday, March 23, 2009

*sigh* (Jaclyn)

My cough is still lingering. I think running has to be a big "no-no" for a cough, so I'm laying off the running. I'm still swimming and my relay won today! :D Shout out to all those who were on my relay: Cindy, Michael, Dylan, and Kim! (It was just a practice meet, but it fun winning. :] )


*cough-cough*
<3Jac

Sunday, March 22, 2009

'ello (Jaclyn)

Okay well I've been reeally sick lately. Fever, sore throat, running nose, stuffed nose, coughing..all that lovely stuff. So I haven't been running much (although I've been doing my dry-land stuff).

I was thinking about riding my bike to the beach today..but It's raining. I might ride my bike to the beach on Tuesday with my brother (who's back from college on spring break - yay). And then I know Yero (my friend from swim) wants to ride her bike with me to the beach...so maybe I'll do it again next Sunday. [: I just have to get rid of this stupid cough. ugh.

I know Wendy is really busy with morning workouts for her school, but other than that I'm not sure what she's up to. I should give her a callll...lol (I'm a very lazy person!). :D

kaybye!


<3Jac

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

my voice is gone !! (Jaclyn)

Yeah my relays took it away. I yelled a lot during swim. I dunno why. I was really hyper though. A lot of my old friends came to swim that day. It was really fun.

Shout out to YERO who finally came to swim and ANNIE because I got three wet hugs. [:

Swim was pretty fun. Lots of fun people came. At the end we did relays. My team won both relays. Yay. So I shouted a lot/cheered a lot. I think that's when my voice totally disappeared and I then began sounding like a 30 year old man. (How attractive, I know...)

Running after swim (20ish minutes?). It was really hard for me to run because I kept getting pain in the middle of my chest. I think I drank too much water right before I ran. I was really thirsty after swim so I drank a lot, but I don't think that was good...Hmmm. oh well.


Your very sick blogger,
<3 Jac

Monday, March 16, 2009

Im still alive (: [wendy]

Heyy sorry for not updating the blog earlier but quite a few things have happened while i was away. First of all, swim season has begun for school. We have had two meets, first at Millikan HS and a relay meet at Los Alamitos. Unfortunately, I have not dropped a single second yet, but hopefully by the end of the season, I will drop a second or two. Oh, I have morning practice starting tomorrow. We have to be "in the water" by 530. It doesn't matter what time you get there. You just have to be swimming when the clock strikes 5:30. Next, sophomores are taking the high school exit exam tomorrow. How fun. Third, the newspaper article was printed at school. Your name is briefly mentioned (Jaclyn). There is a huge picture of me smiling lamely next to Yero's bike on page 6. I will show it to you the next time I see you. Things have been very busy lately. I'll keep updating! Hopefully, this blog will start turning more triathlon based the next time I write.

-Wendy

back-in-the-days (Jaclyn)

I was looking for swimming photos of Wendy and me, and I stumbled across one of my old time favorite pictures. I don't know why I haven't posted it sooner!
(left to right)
Peter, Me (Jaclyn), Annie, Wendy, JessicaWONG, JessicaKAO

This was one of my favorite summers. I love all these people in this picture and I still keep in-touch with all of them. I think this was...3 summers ago. Wow..was I really 13ish? LOL. maybe 14. Oh well, who cares. I hope you enjoy a little flashback of the past. [;


<3jac

satisfaction? (Jaclyn)

swim workout from 4-6 and then hard running for 20 minutes. I did the same amount of running as last time, but as you can see it took me 10 minutes less this time. o.O improvement? woow. LOL. hmm.


<3jac

Sunday, March 15, 2009

whoops !! (Jaclyn)

Soo, I apologize for not writing much this week. I've been sick. -__-' No running for me right now, but I'm feeling a little bit better. Maaaybe running on Monday (tomorrow). It matters if I have a cough or not.


Your very sorry blogger,
<3jac

Thursday, March 12, 2009

boo ya. (Jaclyn)

Swim workout from 5-7 and then running for 30 minutes.

After the run I was walking home for my "warm down" and then all of sudden I had this itch to run. And I mean SPRINT run. So I sprinted all the way home. (.25 of a mile at the most lol.) ...So much for the warm down. Oh, well. It felt good...sorta. And now I can kinda feel the soreness. But it's all good. [;


The only blogger that ever writes (hint: WENDY WRITE MORE! DID YOU DIE?!)
<3jaclyn

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

byebye calories (Jaclyn)

15 minutes of HARD running this morning. [:


<3Jac

Friday, March 6, 2009

blah (Jaclyn)

dry-land today. no running.

i did 20 of everything...so all together 100 [:


<3Jac

Thursday, March 5, 2009

to: wendy (Jaclyn)

HEY, I DON'T THINK A VIDEO OF US SINGING WHILE RUNNING WOULD BE ANY LESS EMBARRASSING. ahahaha.

Umm [Wendy]

Interesting video..

for your entertainment purposes (Jaclyn)

Yeah...you better comment rate and subscribe! haha just kidding. ;D

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

edit. really? (Jaclyn)

Actually Wendy I said, "I'd cry..." but either way. I'd die and cry at the same time. LOL. :D

Earlier I was thinking...and I came up with this running/working out plan for myself.

Run 4 times a week. (If not run, then a hard bike set..)
On the days I don't run/bike I do dry-land workouts.
(push ups, sit ups, lunges, squats, leg lifts...etc...)
But not too many, because I don't want to get sore and then not be able to run the next day. Just maybe like 10 each? That's like 50-60 all together? Not bad...just a thought. Oh, and swim workout 4-5 times a week (like normal).

Yuuup. Does that sound good? Hmmm...I'll think about it.


Your Jello-eating blogger,
<3Jac

Morning Run

Morning run at Regional Park very very very early in the morning. Didn't feel like singing this time. We only ran in 1 circle, 10 minutes. We were running, and I asked Jaclyn, "What would you do if you saw the one mile mark right here?" She said, "I would die." I would too. I remember how it felt.

5:57AM (Jaclyn)

Yup that's when my alarm screamed at me this morning.

I rode my bike to regional park where I met Wendy. We ran around the park once. 1.2-1.5 miles? something like that. I think we kept a pretty good pace. I was REALLY tired though. :/ ...need to get back into shape... (pooey)


Your out-of-shape blogger,
<3Jac

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Frustrated [Wendy]

This whole day, I've been feeling a little bit frustrated, so at around 7:00 ish, I got up and decided to run. It was pitch black outside, but I ran around my block for about 20 minutes. Yes, my shins have been hurting the whole week, but I just ran them off. I couldn't feel them after running 10 minutes, but now I feel them again. They hurt on and off, but don't worry (:
After the run, I felt much better. I guess I just didn't feel like doing my homework, so after the run and nice shower, I didn't feel frustrated anymore (but I still don't feel like doing my hw!)

dear wendy (Jaclyn)

Yeah she texted me today and told me that her shins have been hurting ever since the triathlon. They even hurt to walk. She'd though they'd get better in a few days, but recovery time seems to be taking much longer. I hope she feels better soon. Until then...I guess I'm on my own...or I can make my little sister go *muahaha* :D


<3Jac

Saturday, February 28, 2009

boring (Jaclyn)

Ran this morning...same thing as last time. ouch! But this morning I had noo motivation. NONE at all. I did not want to go into the garage and stare at the basket in front of that stupid treadmill. haha. WENDY LET'S RUN TOGETHER! (not today please) But I don't think I can run on the treadmill next time. alkdsjflaksdjf; I don't want to run outside...

^^Wow, I'm lazy.

Violin recording from 9am-11am and then orchestra from 2:15pm-5:15pm today. woot. should be a fun day? ...we'll see...


Your REALLY lazy blogger,
<3jac

Thursday, February 26, 2009

burning sensation...(Jaclyn)

This morning I ran at a hard pace:

10 minutes run
1 1/2 minutes break
7 minutes run
1 1/2 minutes break
3 minutes run

The 7 minute run was the hardest for me...strange. I had lots of "burning sensation in the upper leg area." Hahah quote from yesterday's swim practice during the kick set. :D I think tomorrow I'll do the same exact thing. -__-' boring? A little bit...But until I feel like that's pretty much easy (or EASIER at least..), I'll stick to that. I'll slowly add a little more time to it..*yikes*


Off to violin lessons soon~
<3Jac


PS! WENDY, I didn't know you didn't wear a cap while swimming...geez. I'd drown with my hair. >:[

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

A few pictures [Wendy]

Ever since word spread about the triathlon, a LOT of people have been interested in doing one also. Triathlons are most common in the summer because the swimming part may become too cold in the spring, fall, and winter. Most triathlons begin with swimming and end with running, but in my case, it was a reverse triathlon because it was not an open water swim. Traditional triathlons occur in open waters, such as the beach, where the water can get to around 55-65 degrees year-round i believe.
Upcoming triathlons:
1. Pasadena Triathlon (March 14, 2009) *too late to sign up :(
2. CSULB Triathlon (Sunday, April 26, 2009 @ 7:00 AM) :A reverse order triathlon, consisting of a 5k run, a 12 mile bike and a 400m pool swim throughout the CSULB college campus. *sign ups end March 31st
3. Kring and Chung Newport Beach Triathlon: (Sunday, April 19, 2009 @ 7:00 AM) registration ends April 18, 2009 * Sprint distance triathlon for individuals, relay teams, collegiates and elites. Flat water swim in the Back Bay of Newport Beach. Half mile swim, 15 mile cycle, 3 mile run.
4. OC Blazeman: (Sunday, June 29, 2008 @ 7:00 AM) at the HB pier. Triathlon distances of choice: Sprint, Olympic, 70.3 up to 140.6 Long Course Distance. This is not a race, it is an Event to raise money and awareness to support The Blazeman Foundation, Challenged Athletes Foundation, and The MS Society. There is no entry fee. All it takes to participate is a donation made easily through the website, ocblazeman.com. You choose the distance, be it one or more pier swims, bike only, run only, or any combination

Let me know if you are interested in entering any of these triathlons. Please do not enter one without any pre-training! oh and one more thing: THINK IT OVER!





in front of the starting point.





transition area. run to bike. and bike to swim.








swimming backstroke. cap-less!



finish point. notice the black strip around my ankle. It is called the magic chip that can time you in the water and on land. :) I wonderr how it workkkssss.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

more relieved?

So I saw Kim at swim today (her mother is the one who recorded my relay where I got disqualified) and Kim showed the tape to our coach. My coach basically said that I shouldn't have gotten DQed. I had started my wind up (dive) too early, but I held it in place until Kim touched the wall with her hands. But since the meet is over...there's nothing we can do. *sigh* oh well. I'm just glad I know I shouldn't have gotten DQed. I once got DQed at a Junior Olympic meet. Argh, that felt 10 times worse and this feels horrible right now. >:[ Things/mistakes happens I guess...If I can get the tape uploaded to YouTube, I'll post it on the blog. :]


Your sleepy head blogger,
<3Jac

workout. (Jaclyn)

Nice steady pace:

--15 minutes run
--1 1/2 minutes break
--10 minutes run
--1 1/2 minutes break
--5 minutes run
---SHOWER TIME. [:

All together 30 minutes running and 3 minute break. Not bad...I know I was taking kind of a slow pace, but hey. 30 minutes...lol. (Concentrate on the good please!) :D

I think now I should pick up the pace a bit. Maybe less time running, but harder speed. Once I can get a faster pace for 30 minutes then I'll pick up the speed again.

HW time. >:[


<3Jac


EDIT: CONGRATULATIONS WENDY FOR GETTING 2nd PLACE! amaaazing. LOL, remember how I told you there was no one our age that does it? I was right! Next time when we do it together, you get 1st and I'll get 2nd, okay? :D We can beat that other guy. ;]

Monday, February 23, 2009

2 photos for now haha [wendy]

Race on the Base! registration. #341
I will upload photos later. They take too long.
I just found out that they posted the results. I got 2nd in my age group! out of 5 people lol. I lost by 2 minutes to first in the biking section :(
gahhhh stupid bike.
********** FEMALE INDIVIDUAL AGE GROUP: 15 - 18 **********Place Bib Name Age City St Run Bike Swim Time
1 96 XXXXX 17 Atwater CA 32:10 49:21 4:09 1:25:38.25
2 341 Wendy Tang 16 Cerritos CA 31:47 51:13 4:19 1:27:17.71

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Sat. Violin Competition Sun. Swim Meet (Jaclyn)

On Saturday I had my violin competition and it went fairly well. The comments were positive but had things I could work on...

Sunday...SWIM MEET! Ah, I was more nervous than usual. I usually get really nervous ahead of time but this time I didn't get nervous until I was right by the blocks ready to dive in. But when I got nervous I was REALLY nervous. :/ Today I swam the 50 free (2 laps freestyle), 200 free (8 laps freestyle), and the 200 Medley relay (4 people in the relay and each person does a different stroke).

Now this meet is a Championship meet for slow people. LOL! Basically that means 1rst place winners get the most points, 2nd place winners get a little less, 3rd place winners get less than that etc...The team with most points in the end wins. "For the slow people" part means that people that already have Junior Olympics can't compete. HA! (Sorry, but for us slower swimmers, this is the best kind of meet ever invented...lol!)

50 free: I was seated as 2nd fastest and my friend was 3rd fastest. When our heat and lanes were posted the fastest person in our event had scratched (left and gone home) so I was now the fastest in my event. Yero (my friend who is now 2nd fastest) told me that I'm in the middle lane (the fastest lane) and I should beat everyone since I have the fastest time. GREAT YERO! THANKS A LOT! But actually this was good for me to hear, because I swim better under pressure. XD My original time was 27.09 and today I raced a 26.66. HALF A SECOND DROP! That is reeeally good (for you non-swimmers out there). I'm not sure if I have a Junior Olympic time but I definitely have a Dec. Invite time. An hour later (or so) I jumped up and shouted, "I WON my event...that means I got points for our team!" It hadn't really
occurred to me that I had WON. I knew I got 1st in my heat, but I forgot my heat was the fastest heat in the whole event. I felt really good after I realized this. (Sorry for those who do not under stand swim talk..I know it can sounds like lskdjflaksjdflkasd!!!)

200 free: I always go out to fast in the first 2 laps. So I thought the whole time, "pace pace pace!" I went out pretty strong, but not too much. The last 4 laps I was sprinting to catch up. I ended up dropping 1 or 2 seconds. No JO (Junior Olympic) time, but I wasn't expecting it. 200 free isn't my favorite event. (50 free is my absolute favorite!)

200 Medley Relay: This was...a disaster. I don't know. Well, okay maybe it wasn't. I'm still trying to figure out what went wrong...and where. x[ First up were the youngers for there relay. Since this was a point meet the teams were fired up! They were screaming for there teammates to win. I've never experienced this at all. I guess because it was a small pool and everybody was shouting in a small area that it sounded SO LOUD! Even at JOs I don't think it's that loud! I turned around to my friend and I shouted, "OMG! This is SOO INTENSE!" It was almost scary. x] FINALLY THE 15&up girls get to swim (us)! The people on our relay team:

Yero Han: 50 back
Jessica Hanein: 50 breast
Kimberly Umpornpuckdi: 50 fly
Jaclyn Kim: 50 free

Yero went out really strong and we had the lead! Jessica lost the lead but we were still in 2nd! Kim lost 2nd but we were still in 3rd! I wound up my arms to dive in for the last sprint, but as I was winding up I realized I was going to dive in too early (and get Disqualified - DQed). At the last moment I froze on the block (now on my tipy-toes) trying not to dive in too early. I saw that her hands touched so I finally dove in. (Horrible dive, but I thought "at least I didn't get DQed!") There was no way for me to catch up, but it didn't really matter at this time if we could win, it was for the time. It's always fun to go to JOs with a relay team. ANYWAY! After I finished I climbed out and this big man in a white uniform (referee) told me that I was DQed for early entry (false start - I dove in too early). I was totally bummed out. I had DQed my ENTIRE relay. I felt horrible. UGH! It's worse than just DQing your own event...you DQed the ENTIRE relay team. :[ Anyway, my Coach told me he thought I shouldn't have gotten DQed and he said he wanted to see it on tape.

LATER in the bathrooms I found out that Kim's mom HAD flimed our relay. I haven't seen the footage (haha sounds professional) yet, but I want to! KIMBERLY, PLEASE UPLOAD THE VIDEO TO YOUTUBE! If Kim does, I'll post it on the blog - fersure! Even Kim's mom was saying I shouldn't have gotten DQed. She's like, "Yeah, I totally remember your dive. You were going to dive in too early, but the you stopped yourself and I thought you were going to fall off the block...You finally dove in and you went straight down to the bottom of the pool...Yeah I remember, because you had a horrible dive..." HAHAHA! THANKS MRS. U, but seriously. I hate getting DQed on a RELAY. I feel so bad for my relay members. :[[[


SORRY for you non-swimmers. I know this probably sounds like a different language. :/



Your tired blogger,
<33JAC

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Done!. [Wendy]

Goal accomplished! Finished the reverse triathlon! If anything is easier said than done, it applies to this triathlon. It's been a few hours since I finished the race and since then, I have been relaxing at home. Looking back at the triathlon, I definitely learned from a lot of things I should have done and a few things I shouldn't have done. You are probably wondering if I thought I did well. Yes and no. Yes, because finishing feels like such an accomplishment. When you finish the triathlon, you will feel both mentally and physically great. Your body will be pushed to the limit but when you finish, the reward is like completing an extremely tough workout. No, I don't think I did well in the triathlon because of some of the mistakes I made.

The race began with the 5 k flat run around the base. There were about 800 people packed in a very long line behind the starting point. When the race started, everybody began choosing a comfortable pace. These were experienced runners, very little people there were under 18 years old. I expected them to begin walking after the first mile, but surprisingly I did not see any. Eventually, I fell into place among a group of people who were going a comfortable pace with me. I was positioned in the middle front of the entire race (in the beginning). The first mile took longer than expected. As I ran past the first mile mark, a professional timer shouted, "8:30!" I was starting to feel tired at 1.5 miles because I had never really trained past 2 miles consecutively. At this point, I knew that I should slowed down to a more comfortable pace instead of trying to pass more and more runners. At two miles, it was 17:??. This was when everything started going downhill. After another half mile, I started to feel winded. This was past anything I have trained, and I instantly regretted not training a little bit harder. Unfortunately, I stopped and began to walk. The run was actually 3.3 miles, so the last mile really killed me. People began passing me from behind, and the minute I tried to run again, I would eventually slow down to a walk again. Some people would encourage me to keep running, and it helped. I ended up doing what inexperienced runners do: sprint a 100 yards and then walking and then sprinting and then walking. It was the longest mile I have ever traveled in my entire life. My head felt dizzy and dazed, but when I saw the transition area, I felt a sudden rush of relief.

(I never found out my 5k run time, but I DONT WANT TO KNOW!)

Transitioning shouldn't be difficult. All you have to do is mount your bike, put on your helmet, and leave. That's what I thought. Imagine having to do that when your mind and your body are half paralyzed from an excruciating run. After the run, the transition was a million times more difficult than I had ever imagined. Clumsily, I fumbled with my bike and struggled to put my helmet on. At the same time, my shoes were a huge fussle, because the shoelace got stuck on the bike. In an instant of frustration, i made a stupid and rash decision just to save a few seconds of fixing the problem. I threw down my shoe and commenced on my 12 mile bike without shoes and without water. I began to peddle my way through and I kept in mind about pacing myself this time. I did pace myself very well for the bike, but the only problem was: my bike! Mostly everybody had professional bikes: light-weight, large wheels, shoulder handle bars. I was peddling at 3 times the speed some of them were, but they were going the same speed as me! :/ I didn't want to risk trying to change gear's on Yero's bike because I was afraid something could have gone mechanically wrong. So, there I was, biking in socks. It was a relief to bike instead of run, but my mom told me later on that I went back a little bit after the bike ride. I was motivated the entire time to get to the water stand, so I biked my fastest on the last lap.

The bike ride was done! I reached the transition area again, but this time, my legs were dead sticks. I parked my bike and changed into my swim gear. I tried running to the pool, but it was sad because I could no longer physically run! I felt a like a million pounds while my muscles begged not to be used anymore. But then, I spotted the pool, and I knew I would be finished soon. I jumped in the pool and began to swim down the first lane. As I surfaced the water, I expected to fly across the water and reach a sprinting speed to make up for how many people had passed me before. It was the weirdest sensation in the world because, I couldn't! My legs and my arms felt like a ton of weight and no matter how much faster I pulled or kicked, I felt like I was being dragged down. Still, I swam faster than most of the swimmers, but I only managed to pass a few people per lap. When I reached the ending point in the pool, there were lifeguards there to help people out. I have swum in a pool since I was 5, and since then, I have never needed help getting out of a pool. But here, I found myself being grabbed by a lifeguard and being assisted like everybody else. I had finished!

Yes, I did make a lot of mistakes for my first triathlon. I bombed my running and forgot my shoes, but hey, I finished, and that was my goal from the beginning. Of course, I would want to do another triathlon because now, I know how to train for it and how to prepare. I'm sure the next time, I will improve a lot because of the hard-learned lessons from this triathlon: Los Alamitos Race on the Base 1st annual reverse triathlon.

Do you want to know the results? Everybody says results don't matter, just try your best, but a race wouln't be fun without results- just don't expect too much haha. I'll post them when they come out (:

Friday, February 20, 2009

1st Triathlon & Violin Competition (Jaclyn)

WENDY'S 1st TRIATHLON IS TOMORROW AT LOS ALAMITOS! There better be people there to support her. Haha wow, she's so brave. I couldn't do what she's doing. AHAHA! INSTEAD; I'm going to be at a violin competition in Bellflower. -__-'; Oh, I had such a horrible lessons. I'm nervous that I won't be able to play all the way through.

Sunday I have a swimming competition and there should be medals and points given out to the top teams! :D (That's always fun.)

Wendy I know you'll do great, because you're a veryvery consistent athlete (unlike me) and you keep a steady pace basically the whole time. Just remember, don't start out too fast. And your goal is to finish, not place.

I'm sorry I couldn't be there to cheer you on, but please call me and leave a message on phone telling me exactly how every single little thing went! OKAY? Okay. :D


<3Jac

TOMORROW IS THE TRIATHLON [Wendy]

How did it COME SO FAST?!
It's tomorrow! (technically b/c it is 1:00 pm friday haha idk why im up so late)

I watched the girl's CIF first round game today for water polo so I didnt do much else. They won! congrats! It makes me want to join but i cant :'(

I will update (in 15 hrs+ from now )
gnight!

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

3 Days Until Triathlon! (Wendy)

This morning, Jaclyn and I headed over to Regional Park for a morning jog. We were getting tired of running at the same places (around our blocks, CPE, etc), so Regional was a new spot to run. There were many morning walkers there, and when we arrived on our bikes, there was a blanket of white fog over the pond. It was extremely cold, so we started to run. A few minutes into the run, I decided to mix it up a little bit, so I began to sing along to the songs on my Ipod. If you didnt already know, it is extremely hard to sing while running. Well, singing definitely made the dull morning a little bit brighter, but it was hard to recall the lyrics for some of the songs. I started with Kiss Me through the Phone by Souljaboy, but I only knew the chorus to that song. After several other attempts, the greatest success came with Lucky by Jason Mraz and Colbie C..? It was a nice jog which lasted a little less than 15 minutes because we were running late for school (:

LATER ON IN THE DAY...
Approx. 3:30 in the afternoon after leaving early from swim practice...
I jogged 3 miles! in three sets. First set: 1.5 miles (3 laps) resttt Second set: 1 mile (2 laps) Third set: .5 mile (1 lap) I wish that I could say that I feel ready for the 3 mile run, but I had a short water break b/w each set :/

i'm too tired...(Jaclyn)

My mom said I sounded like an old person today. Ugh waking up at 5:59AM isn't the most fun thing in the world.

I left the house at 6:05 ahaha i got ready in 6 minutes! Wendy and I met at Regional park. It took me over 15 minutes to get there...I biked so slow. My hands were freezing and I almost fell of my bike more than once. TOOO SLEEPYYY! >[

We locked up our bikes to a pole and ran around the park/lake a couple of times. I think we only ran like a couple of miles? I don't really know. 1.5? Something like that. Took us forever though. Wendy serenaded me with her beautiful songs/lyrics. That made the run more fun and better.

I have to Coach my little sister's orchestra tonight so I can't go to swim workout (darn - sarcasm). Tomorrow I think I can run and swim..

BYE!


<3Jac

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

too early for me! (Jaclyn)

hahaha tomorrow morning (6:20AM) wendy and i will meet at regional park to run. *fun* >[


<3jac

4 days until triathlon!

T minus 4 days until the triathlon! After swim practice today, I asked my coach if I could be released early to run in the park nearby. Jaclyn couldnt make it, so it felt strange running alone. There was nobody there to really push me to keep running, but I think I managed alright. I could'nt use the track because there was a track team training there. There was a large course to run around- 2 laps=1 mile. (it was inscribed on the park bench) I ran 4 laps and walked 1. After the run, my lungs were burning, and my face was a swelling, bright red. It was a successful workout nonethe less. I am now dreading the 3 mile run, but all I am aiming for is finishing! (: Tomorrow, morning run.

update (Jaclyn)

I'm not running today because I'm too sore. I did even more dry land today (push ups) because we had a sub-coach. OUCH Coach Ryan!

Tomorrow is late day for Wendy. We'll run together in the morning around 6:15AM. Oh, I can't wait. -__-;' hahaha. The joy of sarcasm. I'm not sure what the plan is. I'm not really sure what Wendy is running lately...I know she ran after her school swim practice, but other than that I don't know what she's doing. Last time I checked she was trying to run for 20 minutes straight, really hard.

Well that's it~


<3Jac

Monday, February 16, 2009

rain please stop! (Jaclyn)

Wendy and I were supposed to run this morning at 8:00 but it was raining hard! ...the rain didn't stop till late afternoonish. To make up for it here is my workout:

100 lunges
30 squats <-- I died
50 leg lifts
30 tricep pushups

wooot.


<3jac

My Apologies! (Jaclyn)

10:00 - Wendy's Triathlon
11:00 - Jaclyn's Violin Competition

There's no way I can make it to Wendy's Triathlon. I feel so horrible inside. lakdjflaksdjf; I told her I'd be right there supporting her...and now I can't make it. Hands down, I WANT TO! But ...violin competition...I'm still supporting Wendy no matter what. And I want Wendy to do her best..But saying that is one thing, and showing her is another. I don't know. I feel like I've let Wendy down. I feel really horrible. When I comitted to the Violin Competition I had no idea it was on the same day. -__-' I AM SOO SORRY WENDY! ughh. >[ aldkjfalkdsjf; pleeease forrrgive mee!! I'll work extra hard to help you train. When do you want to run tomorrow? I don't care if it's raining anymoree!! :]


My Apologies,
<3Jac

In Preparation [Wendy]

HELLO again. My triathlon is THIS COMING SATURDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
This is the perfect time to say, " THINGS ARE EASIER SAID THAN DONE."
No me gusta correr. Me gusta nadar y andar en bicicleta pero yo detesto correr.
I'm borrowing a bike from Yero because it would be a big joke if I rode my bike in a competition. Thanks Yero! (:
I told her I was nervous, but she gave me lots of positives: 1) your goal is to finish not win anything big. 2) swimmers have more endurance uuhhh that's it. haha

Refresh: City of La Mirada Race on the Base on February 21, 2009 at 10
5 k run
12 mile bike
200 meter swim

Why can't there be more swim?! Oh well, this last few weeks have passed by very fast.

Bike Ride to Seal Beach [Wendy]

Yesterday, Jaclyn and I biked to Seal Beach again. On the way there, we chilled and rode verryy verryyy slow. We left my house at around 12:30, and when we arrived, it was 2! It took 1 hour and 30 minutes to get there! When we arrived, we decided to go on the beach and relax there for a while. We biked past these gorgeous houses and just sat on my beach towel by the Seal Beach pier. The waves were pretty nice, but the water was cold! Both of us dipped our feet in the water, but if we had brought our swim suits, I think we would have gone in because the waves looked surfable. While we were looking out at the ocean, I heard a surfer next to me say, "Is that a sea lion?" Jaclyn looked out at the ocean, and she saw it! Unfortunately, I didnt have my glasses with me, so I couldn't see it. I ran up to the shore and looked out for a very long time, but I still did not see it. When I came running back, Jaclyn exclaimed, "I see it again!" Then, I saw it. It was a female sea lion who was basically on the shore. She was hobbling out of the water, and she was within knee-deep water. I sprinted over there, and I was able to get a very close glance at her before she went back in the water. She was so close that I could have gone and pet her, but I dont think that would have been a very good idea. After lying on the beach for awhile and eating up our snacks, Jaclyn and I headed around the pier to explore. My parents had taken me there before when I was very small, so it was nice to see places that I recognized. There was this one street with a lot of cute shops. There was a music shop that we looked at (Jaclyn hearts music) and afterwards we went to a shell store. I could see why the shell store was Jaclyn's favorite. It was full of interesting shells and beach-y items that matched her personality. There were gigantic abalone shells, sea urchine skeletons, sea stars, and conches. Everything there made my shell collection look extremely lame :P. It was getting late, so after a long time of consideration, she bought a present for her friend in Alaska and we headed back. This time, I used Jaclyn's bike, and I biked my hardest. The wheels on her bike are smaller so you have to pedal extremely fast to go fast. I finally figured out that the larger the wheels, the easier it is to bike haha. So, there I was panting and sweating until we reached around la mirada - ish when my legs couldnt take it anymore. We stopped for a break and some water, and I walked off the soreness in my legs. We got back on the bikes and it was amazing what a little break could do for your legs. We came back to my house where I stole some of my parent's change :D and we got ourselves some Johnny's Frozen Yogurt for a treat. It was a good thing it didnt rain. Overall, it was a nice trip and a pretty nice workout.

Saturday, February 14, 2009

toes in the sand (Jaclyn)

--12:30 biking to the beach
--2:00 FINALLY GET THERE.

Took us 1 1/2 hours. GREAT BALLS OF FIRE! The wind was really bad and I couldn't go anywhere even though I was peddling. We sat on the sand and dipped our toes in the water. Wendy ran into the water to catch a sea lion, but it disappeared before she could get it. ;] We shopped for a bit and I bought my friend a beach gift.

--4:00 we headed back. I got to use Wendy's bike (score!).
We got the Wendy's house in less than an hour. :]
(Wind to our back so it was much easier..)

Well I guess that was it...I don't think it was as much fun as last time, just because we've done it before...so it didn't feel like a HUGE accomplishment. Maybe next time we should try to bring a friend or something..Or try mixing it up. I don't know, but I don't want workouts to get boring because then there's no motivation. All in all, I'm still glad I did it, and I still did have fun. :]


<3Jac

BEACH! (Jaclyn)

So my mom was showing me exactly how to get from Seal Beach to Huntington Beach. So we can do whatever you want, Wendy. If we fall into the flood control we can just swim all the way to Seal Beach...for me I think that'll be easier. ;] LOL.

I think we need to pack more this time. Maybe, same amount of water...more food? I don't know. Let's just eat before we go. And then we should get back around the same time. 5:30ish? Emergency money...lol. (Our conversation was funny about 911 money...) Hmmm. We probably don't need sunglasses. :P Wendy, are we getting in the water? *shivers*

Okay, well I'll practice my violin now, so I can go to the beach at 12. *excited*


<3Jac

Friday, February 13, 2009

Sunny Side Down [Wendy]

Why won't the weather cooperate?! It has been raining since last week, and we neeedd to run. I think the only break we have to the rain is this coming Saturday and Sunday. We are planning to bike to the beach at around 12 tomorrow (: We will have more time to spend there this time. Hopefully, it doesnt rain tomorrow. The weather report says: Saturday: 56° F 45° F Partly clouday. The scary part about going to the beach tomorrow is that the flood control will be flooded. So, when we bike, the water may be higher than usual, and if we fall innnn.... just kidding. Well, if we do fall in, we will be in trouble. being swept all the way to Seal Beach.
Hope everything turns out okayy.
To make up for the lack of running I've had today, 50 reverse situps, 3 x 15 frog leaps.
That ought to do the trick (:

Concert and Tomorrow (Jaclyn)

Thank you Wendy for the nice phone message. The concert went amazingly well (wow). Picture: Me and my sis, Jewel. Ahaha we're weirdoss. :D

I'm still up to going to the beach tomorrow if it isn't raining. I have a violin competition in 8 days so I HAVE to practice my violin in the morning (the work never ends). But if you're willing to go to the beach/workout around 12:00 so am I. If we bike to the beach at 12 we'll have plenty of time to hangout over there.

SHOUT OUT: Thanks Connie Wu for the beautiful message. I LOVE YOU! :]<3


<3Jac

feel the burn (Jaclyn)

10 minutes of running (nice steady pace).
10 minutes of biking.
50 sit ups.
30 leg lifts.

I'm done! :D Shower time and then orchestra concert at 7:30. I have to leave my house at 5:00. Ugh, I'm sorry Wendy. This week has just been horrible. :[ Next week for sure. Let's get our schedule!


<3Jac

Thursday, February 12, 2009

dedication!! (Jaclyn)

I got home at 9:50pm from orchestra rehearsal. (Please don't ask about the rehearsal...it was awful. lol) I thought about running in the morning, but I had this sudden urge to run now. So I got my running clothes on and ran on the treadmill in my garage. I ran at a slow, but steady pace. After 16 minutes I picked up the speed and then after 2 minutes I picked up the speed even more. The last minute I was sprinting. After 20 minutes of running and I got on this old stationary bike that I have.The buttons no longer work, but the pedals do. On the bike you have 8 different levels. 1 being the easiest and 8 being the hardest. I think riding my own bike feels like a 3 or 4, so I put the stationary bike on level 5 and biked for 20 minutes.

Ugh I'm really sweaty and disgusting, lol. AND SLEEPY! I don't know why...I was falling asleep on the bike...except I couldn't quite fall asleep because of the burning sensation coming from my legs. ;]

*sigh* Whether it's dedication or stupidity, I don't know, but I'm tired...and I have to take a shower still. (lol)


<3Jac PS~ Orchestra concert tomorrow! Wish me good luck. =]

bad news...(Jaclyn)

Soooo. Today I have an extra rehearsal for orchestra and I have to leave my house around 5:15...Wendy gets out of swim practice at 5:00. DARN IT! We can't run today. -__-; but I called her and told her to run without me. I'll try to run by myself tonight at my house (I have a treadmill). ARGH. this is soo frustrating. NEXT WEEK WE SHALL DO BETTER!

I'm 100% free this Saturday. So we can go all out and kill ourselves. *gasp* Let's bike to the beach again, but start at like 5:00AM and then bodysurf all day and then come home. HAHAHAH. oh my gosh we would get soo sick. It's cold right now! :D

*sigh* Sorry Wendy. :'[


<3Jac

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Sorry, Jaclyn =[

This is 100% my fault. I am soo sorry. So last night, we said that we could run after swim but then at school, I was told there was something for MUN, so I went. And Jaclyn called and told me she was at my house and I was like SHOOT. ARRG. Im sorrryy ='[[[[ I should have told you beforehand but yeahh. I feel soo bad.
But swim season training started. and workout is HARD. I just got back home and I have to start hw noww.

ALDKFJALSKDJF; (Jaclyn)

MISUNDERSTANDING AGAIN?!

okay Wendy and I have to get better phone skittles because I thought we agreed on running after swim workout today. So I was at her house waiting...calling Wendy....

W, "hello?"
J, "I'm at your house."
W, "...wait...what?..i'm at school"

yeah basically we didn't agree on anything. x] alsdkjflkj;

OKAY WENDY. We need to get a schedule. Let's decide our schedule tonight. When are you free?

I thought on Wednesdays we could bike in the morning before school since you have late days. Every other Wednesday I can't run in the afternoon. All other days I'm pretty much free. Let's have a schedule...write it down...and keep to it. Because I'm starting to get no workout in at all (besides swim) and I don't want our progress to go backwards. x[[


Your not mad, only a little frustrated blogger,
JACLYNKIM.[:

i guess i'll update you...(Jaclyn)

umm nothing much to say.

Monday - Wendy ran, but I couldn't...I acutally don't know what she did (mile).
Tuesday - We were suppose to run, but Wendy fell asleep...lol.
Wednesday (today) - RUNNING. Lol. Later today after swim workout. :)

Dude, I'm sooo sore. We did an hour of dry land yesterday. (Dry land is basically a workout out of the water...push ups, sit ups, leg lifts, jumping jacks, things that make it hurt to laugh!)

alsdkjflaksjdf; RUN SLOW WENDY! :D


<3Jac

Sunday, February 8, 2009

raaain. (Jaclyn)


It really has been raining a lot...I'm not kidding. lol. Tomorrow Wendy has a day off from school so she's running in the morning, but I have class. So I can't join her. =/ *bummer* I actually feel like running...strange. I must be sick. <3jac

Thursday, February 5, 2009

it's raining, it's pouring...(Jaclyn)

It's raining,
It's pouring,
The old man is snoring -
NOT RUNNING.

ahah. yeah, no run today.


<3Jac

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Change [Wendy]

Woke up at 5:45 today to get ready and head over to Jaclyn's house for a run. I rode my bike over in the dark (scary experience) but I managed to get to Jaclyn's house without being run over by a car (: I left my bike at her house, and we began our run. Because I came late, we had to start immediately, but we couldnt agree on what to run. Finally, we decided on a 20 minute run, so we jogged around the park around Jaclyn's house. She was doing very good in the end, where she was jogging very fast (good pacing! [= ) It was getting kind of late, so I didnt think that I would make back to my house in time if I rode my bike back, so I got sort of lazy and asked my mom to pick me up. haha I don't like being recognized in my workout clothes in public haha xD
At school, I finally got my schedule changed for swim, which apparently already started this week. After lunch, I can go over to CPE and practice for an hour everyday before season starts. I guess that's good news because now I have more time to run because I dont have to do PE! What a great day, I had my last day of PE I will ever have in my sophomore year/high school career/ my entire life! Woww. Speaking of that, im kind of sad because PE was fun (sometimes!)
We ran the mile again at school, and this time, I just kept a nice jogging pace with these cross country runners. They are experts at pacing themselves, and on the last 400m, they started to sprint. I am not a sprinter, so I just kept the normal pace and made it in 8 minutes NO SWEAT!
Things are changinggg *for the better! (:

can any run feel good? (Jaclyn)

6:22AM Wendy showed up at my door to run.
We finished our run at 6:55AM.

I'm not sure how many miles our run was. Probably around 1.5miles-ish. [:

I STAYED AHEAD OF WENDY FOR SOME OF THE RUN! *evil smile* I think she let me though..PLUS. She was really sore from these frog jumps she's been doing at home for "extra" exercise (whatever that means). LOL just kidding. [:

Well, that's it I guess. I'm not sure when we're running again..Tomorrow night? We'll see.


<3Jac


EDIT: Yesterday at swim we did a time trial and I got a 56seconds on my 100 yards freestyle. *excited* (I just had to tell everyone. lol)

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

out of breath (Jaclyn)

Woahh! Wendy wrote twice in a row. Let's document this. [; Just playing, Wendy! :D

Today after swim Wendy and I took a small jog (1.6 miles). On the first mile I felt REALLY good. I kept up with Wendy and I was like "heck yes I can do this." And then the last like half a mile...I died. Literally. I'm not sure exactly what happened. But I became very exhausted and could no longer keep up with Wendy. I hope I didn't hold her back too much. :/ argh.

Goal: Push Wendy until she feels like crying...

Impossible goal? I think so. :/ ANYWAY. Another jog tomorrow morning at 6:15AM-ish. Ugh so excited for that one. o.O bye[:


<3Jac

quick jog [wendy]

Hey I just got back from our quick jog. We went at a fast pace today, but we didnt want to get too tired. Tomorrow, we will be running again in the morning. While running today, I almost ran into multiple benches, signs,.... because it was so dark. Pheww I think we are still in shape (kind of), because it took about 15 minutes to get from my house to jaclyn's house.
When my mom was coming to pick me up, I accidentally dropped my phone, and it cracked in half. It's actually an old razor (ewww) and it split right down the middle. Now, my phone looks like it is decapitated, it's just that the screen and the numbers are separated. haha (: it was an accident i swear. oh wellll. I hated that phone, but idk what my parents will say haha